Registry update — unassessed
Assessing the Impact of Age, and a Short-term High-intensity Interval Training (HIIT) on Skeletal Muscle Mass and Mitochondrial Activity
Trial registry update: COMPLETED. No results reported in the supplied registry record.
RCTMinor significance
What this changes
The finding has not established an approved change to our evidence assessment.
Source date: Aug 17, 2026 · Discovered: Sep 18, 2026 · Assessed: — · Historical research backfill
What it does not prove
- This appears to be a protocol or registration document, not a completed study reporting actual results—no findings on mitochondrial function changes or intervention effects are presented
- No sample size or effect sizes are reported, preventing assessment of statistical power or magnitude of any findings
- The abstract does not state whether the study was completed, what outcomes were measured, or what results were obtained
Extracted from supplied source material; model confidence is not a measured probability of correctness.
Study details
- Design
- Rct
- Sample size
- —
- Duration
- —
- Population
- Older adults (healthy aging)
- Primary outcome
- mitochondrial function in skeletal muscle
- Effect size
- —
- Significance
- Not reported
- Journal
- University of Nottingham
- Published
- Aug 17, 2026
Sources
Primary source
- University of Nottingham ↗Clinical trial
Recorded source passages
Abstract or registry material supplied for assessment; source version 1. This is not a claim of full-text review.
The older participants will be invited to take part in a home-based 4 week exercise intervention involving either: High intensity interval training, Resistance based training (resistance bands will be provided)
Source versions
Assessment history
Discussion (0)
One thread per scientific event, no matter how many outlets covered it.
Sign in to join the discussion.
No comments yet
Be the first to weigh in on this evidence.